Champion Schools San Tan Valley

Champion Schools San Tan Valley
1846 E. Bella Vista Rd.
San Tan Valley, AZ 85143
info@championsantan.org
(480) 765-2223 480-498-8197
Letter from the Principal
Posted on March 17, 2020 in news, Uncategorized

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

(UPDATED)

Dear Champion Families and Students, March 20th, 2020

I am writing to give you a transparent update on how COVID-19 will affect our school community moving forward. Although the situation seems to change everyday, our administration and district team have set some parameters on what to expect in the coming weeks.

As you are aware, we were initially closed until March 30th due to a state mandate from Governor Doug Ducey and Superintendent of Education Kathy Hoffman. Just tonight, the Governor mandated all schools across Arizona be closed until April 10th.

Although our doors will be closed for students, we will be transitioning to online and at-home learning. We, at Champion, want to ensure that your students are provided with materials and resources so that they can continue their instruction at home. We know this is a transition period and it will be an adjustment for everyone — but our goal is to do our absolute best to continue learning for our students while they are safe at home.

Starting next week, our teachers and coaches will be working to gather materials, resources and assign classwork for lessons beginning as soon as March 25th and will be fully implementing at- home-learning beginning March 30th. It is not mandatory that every student have access to the internet, and alternate paper- based material will be provided if they are unable to connect.

We advise that you stay connected to your child’s teacher via Class Dojo and if you haven’t already connected, please reach out to your child’s teacher for guidance.

Here are our goals for the transition to at-home learning :

  • Teachers will be planning for at-home instruction from 8am -12pm Monday-Friday. This will be a mixture of online and paper-based instruction.
  • Learning will be project based, with emphasis on reading and revision of material previously taught.
  • Arrangements for materials to be dropped off at neighborhood bus stop locations
    • for families who do not have ability to pick up from school.
  • FREE Meal service available to community members under the age of 18 available for pick up 8-9am Mon- Fri. ( email aschmeling@championschools.org for meal request numbers)
  • Mini at-home workout videos for students and families to try!
  • Open, fluid communication with families as the situation progresses.
  • Resources, both online and paper-based shared weekly with parents. Please keep in mind that this situation is constantly changing and we will do everything we can to make sure you’re up to date. I want to extend my best wishes during this uncertain time. Please reach out if you have any questions at all,

Stay healthy and safe,

Mrs. Lewis

 

The following are the list of contact emails for our staff:

 

Administration

  • Principal- Mrs. Lewis llewis@championschools.org
  • Academic Director Mrs. Archie- karchie@championschools.org
  • Athletic Director Coach Johnson – ajohnson@championschools.org
  • Office Manager -S. Muncy smuncy@championschools.org
  • Bus transportation/front office C.Haven- chaven@championschools.org
  • Nutritionist -A. Schmeling aschmeling@championschools.org
  • Title-1 Reading Interventionist Ms. Corrigan dcorrigan@championschools.org
  • Math interventionist – Mr. Roncal mroncal@championschools.org
  • Social Worker – Ms. Spearman tspearman@championschools.org

Teaching Staff

  • Preschool – Hacegaba chacegaba@championschools.org
  • Kindergarten- Sharketti msharketti@championschools.org
  • Kindergarten- Banks abanks@championschools.org
  • 1st grade- Harry sharry@championschools.org
  • 1st grade- Westmoreland kwestmoreland@championschools.org
  • 2nd grade- Busby jbusby@championschools.org
  • 2nd grade- Blueeyes sblueeyes@championschools.org
  • 3rd grade – Lopez nlopez@championschools.org
  • 3rd grade- Clark myuva@championschools.org
  • 4th grade- Boen mboen@championschools.org
  • 4th grade – Stewart tstewart@championschools.org
  • 5th grade- Gibby jgibby@championschools.org
  • 5th grade- Gonzales jgonzales@championschools.org
  • 6th grade – Walker swalker@championschools.org
  • 7th grade- Rasmussen hrasmussen@championschools.org
  • 7th grade – Faust mfaust@championschools.org
  • 8th grade – Olivaz jolivaz@championschools.org
  • 8th grade – Emmons memmons@championschools.org
  • Athletic Coach -Kelly kkelly@championschools.org
  • Athletic Coach- Neeley bneeley@championschools.org

Support staff – Special education

  • SPED director -Sara Word sword@championschools.org
  • Resource room – Danson – kdanson@championschools.org
  • Resource room – Coetzer acoetzer@championschools.org
  • SLPA – ( Speech) bperry@championschools.org

Important Announcement: Superintendent COVID-19 Update (05/05/2020)

Champion Schools

Letter from the Superintendent 

May 5, 2020

Dear Champion Families,

I hope this letter finds you and ALL of your loved ones safe and well. We are all happy to hear that Governor Doug Ducey has announced the gradual re-opening of Arizona. In order for our economy to re-open, it is essential to open schools.  Superintendent Kathy Hoffman  is very optimistic that Arizona Schools will be opening for the upcoming School Year 2021. 

Report Cards and Awards are being prepared for distribution via Pick UP and US Mail. We are very proud of all of our Students (and Parents) as we transitioned to Online/ At-Home Learning.

Meal Program will continue throughout the Summer, with FREE Breakfast and Lunch being available for Pick Up, Monday-Friday 8:00-9:30am.   

We HOPE to have a FREE Summer Camp Program June 8-11, 15-18 and 22-25, 

Monday-Thursday 8am-noon. This is dependent on the advice of the Governor and the results of the pending reopening. You may contact the school to reserve a space in the Summer Program. We will keep you posted. 

We plan to open for School Year 2021, with the FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL on July 27th. (unless closures continue)  What will school ‘look like’ after this COVID19 pandemic? Here are some important things to consider as you prepare for your children to return to school.

  1. Students should be prepared to Social Distance at School This means that children will not be sitting right next to each other, keeping space between each other in line, during lunch and recess. Playground equipment will not be used until we are sure that there is no risk.
  2. Students  should be up-to-date on their IMMUNIZATIONS.  The following link describes how providers can maintain Childhood Immunizations During COVID-19 Pandemic https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/pediatric-hcp.html. For more information on where to go for Immunizations: www.WeArePublicHealth.org The Roosevelt Immunization Clinic has been and will continue to operate as a WALK-IN  clinic while following social distancing and cleaning measures.
  3. Talk to your children about COVID19 Here is some helpful guidance from the CDC.https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/daily-life-coping/talking-with-children.html
  4. Students should bring a small personal bottle of sanitizer to school, and will be allowed to use it anytime. We also have sanitizer “magic soap” available in classrooms.
  5. Check for signs of illness if a student has a fever, cough, or shortness of breath, call your healthcare provider and keep your child at home and away from others as much as possible 

Here are some additional Resources provided by Maricopa County Public Health

  1. For up-to-date COVID-19 information in Maricopa County, resources and guides to assist you in communicating with your families/community visit  www.maricopa.gov/coronavirus
  2.  Call 2-1-1 for general information on COVID-19. They also have information and resources on their website https://211arizona.org/covid-19/
  3.  Poison Center 844-542-8201 Health care providers, individuals with COVID-19 symptoms, and individuals who believe they may have been exposed to COVID-19 only are advised to contact the Poison Center. This will enable the calls to be answered as efficiently as possible.
  4. The Disaster Distress Helpline offers counseling services via telephone and in multiple languages https://www.samhsa.gov/find-help/disaster-distress-helpline
  5. Enter your zip code to find a food bank near you http://www.azfoodbanks.org/index.php/foodbank/index/
  6. Find free and almost free services in Maricopa County https://www.findhelpphx.org/

 Best Wishes  and Take Care, 

Ms. Sawyer MA

Superintendent

csawyer@championschools.org